top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAdmin

Umbra Penumbra

I’ve known you

for 60 years

and yet I don’t,

pulling you by the

leash as though a

mongrel,

 

shrieking , kicking

up a storm,

 

and not when it’s

been raining , the

hatches battened

down,

 

but on the days

of clearest

cyan, the poppies

stretching to meet

the shine of Sol,

 

knowing truth

is seldom seen

within the tunnels

of the dark,

 

that I  have been

the shadow

all my life,

 

dragged along

the walls

whenever the scrape

of a match

is heeded,

 

the burst from a bulb

above me,

in the pall of

twelve a.m.,

 

my silhouette’s

lengthening hand

an elastic band,

 

a rubbery Reed

Richards—

 

grasping the closest

window near the

corner, open to the

air through which to

soar,

 

a place in which to flee

what light reveals,

 

the sunless

side of the moon

we never see.

 

 

 

Andreas Gripp

September 19, 2024


RF Image




5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page