top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAdmin

Milestones

I missed my car’s odometer

hitting the 100,000 mark,

despite my awareness

it was coming, that at 99,999

it was just a quick jaunt

to the grocer’s,


that I’d happily watch it roll,

purchase a bottle of champagne,

toast my Chevrolet’s achievement.


But then I got distracted by

a woman and her dog,

how sexy she looked

as she walked, wondering

if she was single,

if the calico kept her up

with its incessant, midnight

bark.


By the time I remembered to

check, the number read

100,001


and I cursed that damned diversion,

that it could take me years

to reach two hundred

thousand Ks,


that I’d have to drive

across the continent, say to hell

with the price of gas,


that my eyes will lock obsessively

on the dashboard,

in the hours I’m getting close,


that I’ll disregard the safety

of other drivers, pedestrians,

the moment I’m within

the final roll, creeping at

a turtle’s vexing pace

in NYC,


ignoring the crown of the Chrysler,

its delightful Art Deco,

the look of Lady Liberty

from the road along

the Hudson,


or if you find me in LA, that

Hollywood will fail

to get a glance,


that I’ll never know how right

the Beach Boys were, about

California Girls,

not daring to peek at their legs,

the swaying of their hips,

lest a second landmark moment

fall to waste,


and I’m mapping out another

winding trek,

through the blandest fields

imagined,


only risking that a scarecrow

or a farmer's lovely daughter

will snatch my gaze.





Andreas Gripp

March 31, 2023


RF Image

34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page