top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAdmin

Algorithms

After thirty years of struggle,

I’ve penned my masterpiece.


It’s the poem I can gloat is perfect:


funny, heart-wrenching, born of

blood and sweat

with not a hackneyed phrase

to be found.


I call it my magnum opus,

think I’ve reached top-

echelon, that I’ll have to

conjure up a way to make my

humble brag sincere.


It’s flawless in its cadence,

accent after accent,


but to attract the avant-garde,

I’ve thrown in extra lines

that look

look l

o

o

k

like

this


knowing it’s innovative,

that if everyone’s being innovative

it’s still called innovative,

and to fail to see my genius

means you’re clearly just jejune.

I refuse to send it to a journal

unless they publish it right away,

allow me to pick the font

and put my face upon the cover—

filtered, the one that sweeps the

crow’s feet from my eyes,

masks the freckles that haven’t faded,

turns my grey to lightning blond.


I post it in a hurry to my accounts,

wish the Facebook, Twitter crowds

could have seen it in the making,

like watching Rodin sculpt his Thinker,


that I should have up-

loaded the entire process,

let them see the brandy

that I guzzled,

as if I were drinking

Dylan Thomas under the table.


After half-an-hour, I wonder why

it’s still without a like,

that it probably isn’t showing

in the feed,

that it’s all a conspiracy,

between Musk and Zuckerberg,

that what Penelope put

on her fucking toast

is considered more important;


that they’re the lowest, common

denominator, the plebeians, who

wouldn’t know a chef-d'oeuvre

if they stopped and sat on it;


that all the other poets are simply

jealous, afraid I’ll show them up,

that they’ll look like grade-school

jinglers compared to me,

that I’ll crash their open mic,

say to hell with allotted time;


that Auden is put to shame,

that I’ve trumped his Icarus,

that no one will give a shit

about his wings from here on in;


that the ship will thumb its nose

instead of sailing calmly on.





Andreas Gripp

March 22, 2023


RF Image

39 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page